How good for you is flax seed meal?

I found this from the Bob’s Red Mill Flaxseed Package.  While I know flax seed meal is healthy, I was really surprised to read about HOW healthy it is for you.  I use this flax seed meal in (almost) all of my baked goods.

What’s inside each flaxseed and found in flaxseed meal could be better health, spelled F-L-A-X.

F is for Fiber.  It’s amazing how much fiber a little flaxseed contains. Just two tablespoons of flaxseed meal delivers 4 grams of fiber, as much fiber as 1 ½ cups of cooked oatmeal!  Studies suggest that when flaxseed meal is added to the diet, harmful LDL cholesterol drops, while good HDL cholesterol stays put.  Regularity improves, also.

L is for Lignans.Such a package of goodness!  Here’s where the flaxseed story gets major points.  Flaxseed contains high levels of natural antioxidants called lignans.  Many plant foods have some lignans but flaxseed has at least 7 times more than any other.  To get the lignans that are in just two tablespoons of flaxseed meal, you’d need to eat about 30 cups of fresh broccoli.

A is for Alpha-linolenic Acid.  Modern diets – even healthy ones – are routinely deficient in omega-3s. Flaxseed is a mega-source for the plant version of omega-3 call alpha-linolenic acid. The oil in flaxseed is about 50% alpha-linolenic acid. Canola and walnut oils, the next highest sources, have about 10%.  But most foods have far less.  One serving of flaxseed meal contains 1800 milligrams of omega-3.

X is for Excellent choice.  Should you consider adding flaxseed meal to your diet?  “Absolutely,” say many doctors and nutritionists.

Published by

cindykollar

I live a wonderful life in Elgin, Illinois with my husband of 7 years. I have two children of my own and have helped to raise many more. I have a step-grandson who is 3 years old. I work full-time, attend Judson University, and love to cook.